Fellowship of the Society for Research into Higher Education

Fellowship is recognition for those who have made a significant contribution in the field of research into higher education, awarded to members of the Society who have achieved a substantial reputation based on a significant body of work achieved over a period of time. Fellows may take on an advisory role to help develop the work of the Society.

Fellows: Full list

Name Affiliation Appointed
Professor Marcia Devlin Federation University Australia January 2014
Professor Lee Harvey Copenhagen Business School, Denmark January 2013
Professor Monica Mclean University of Nottingham January 2013
Professor Patrick Ainley University of Greenwich January 2012
Professor Carole Leathwood London Metropolitan University January 2012
Professor Jeroen Huisman University of Bath January 2012
Professor Lynn McAlpine University of Oxford/ McGill January 2012
Professor Rob Cuthbert University of West of England January 2011
Professor Claire Callender University of London, Birkbeck & Institute of Education January 2011
Professor Paul Trowler University of Lancaster January 2011
Professor Ian McNay University of Greenwich January 2011
Professor Rosemary Deem Royal Holloway, London January 2010
Professor Kerri-Lee Krause Griffith University Australia January 2010
Professor Robin Middlehurst University of Kingston, UK January 2010
Professor Ulrich Teichler University Kassel January 2009
Professor Angela Brew University of Sydney January 2008
Professor Gunnar Handal University of Oslo January 2008
Professor Dai Hounsell University of Edinburgh January 2008
Professor Louise Morley University of Sussex January 2008
Professor Michael Shattock Institute of Education University of London January 2008
Professor Mantz Yorke Lancaster University January 2008
Professor John Brennan Centre for Higher Education Research Information, Open University January 2006
Professor Oliver Fulton University of Lancaster January 2006
Professor Malcolm Tight University of Lancaster January 2006
Professor Simon Marginson University of Sydney, Australia January 2004
Professor Gareth Parry University of Sheffield January 2004
Mr John Skelton Milton Keynes January 2004
Professor Noel Entwistle University of Edinburgh January 2002
Professor David Dill University of North Carolina January 2001
Professor James Ratcliffe Pennsylvannia State University January 2001
Ms Harriet Croft Bristol January 2000
Dr Peter Maassen University of Oslo, Norway January 2000
Professor Ronald Barnett Institute of Education, University of London January 1998
Professor Mary Henkel Brunel University January 1998
Dr John Wyatt Chichester January 1998
Dr Marianne Bauer University of Gothenburg January 1997
Professor Ingrid Moses University of New England January 1996
Professor Sheldon Rothblatt University of California January 1996
Professor Sinclair Goodlad Imperial College London January 1993
Professor Ference Marton University of Gothenburg January 1992
Professor David Boud University of Technology Sydney January 1991
Professor John Pratt University of East London January 1991
Professor Sir Peter Scott Kingston University January 1991
Professor Alan Smithers University of Buckingham January 1991


Honorary Fellows
Name Appointed
Professor Christine Musselin 2014
Professor Jurgen Enders 2011
Professor Michael Peters 2010


SRHE Fellows Event – 27 June 2013

The opening presentation and audio podcast from Fellow and now Vice-President of the Society, Professor Sir Peter Scott from the UCL Institute of Education, London are available here:

SRHE Fellows event 2013.